50s International Harvester Metro $950

Ok, so I really can’t help myself when it comes to International Harvesters.

I have a ’65 Scout 800 on my farm that I use for small jobs like moving around firewood and anything else (I love it to death).

If you know anything about old cars, you know that IH did an incredible job making what were probably the most durable trucks you could buy.  On the other hand, rust killed them very quickly (something Ford was much better about), especially up in the northeast where this guy is.

Well, it looks like it has an early form of color shifting paint but thats fine.  It also is in up to the axles, so much probably isn’t working.  The good news is that IH engines can deal with an enormous amount of abuse and so it may still run.  On the other hand, whatever isn’t there is going to be very difficult to replace with NOS, but that doesn’t really matter very much.  One of the beautiful things about trucks of these vintage is you can make anything work (hydroboost brakes are a common swap, for example).

So yeah, this thing could be a rolling art deco sculpture.  Really beautiful, really unique.  If I had the right trailer I’d just move it to my farm for storage.

Here’s the link.  Nothing really useful in the description.

One comment

Leave a comment